Skip to content

December day © mmSeason

Thursday 7 January 2010

(I know it’s no longer December but let’s not write the month out of history as if it never existed.)

I used not to miss silence. Not one of those people who need their fix. But now i get a regular dose of quiet and i appreciate it. Around here it’s often very quiet; you don’t even hear the main road, a mile away, if the wind’s in the other direction. At some times of day, the birds just can’t be bothered and so the only sound is your own footsteps.

DECEMBER DAY
© 2009 mmSeason

Countryside
holding
its breath
waits
to speak.

It will take
its turn
when buried
seeds
have sung.

This was written on a very still day, before the snow. Our dogwalks are peaceful every day and i often stand in the sunshine listening to the morning’s rain dropping carefully from leaf to leaf and down into the puddles. But that particular day was different. The land really seemed to be muscling its presence through the surface details of grass, tarmac, tree. You associate that sense of expectation with the springtime but it was powerful that day.

My poems ‘always’ hide away and prove for at least a few months, and then undergo surgery and another rest period before anyone sees them. Except occasionally. I included this one with our Christmas cards, mere days after it came to me, with a little thought given to the line breaks but otherwise no revision. For me that’s reckless, and of course as soon as they were in the post i became sure the poem wasn’t up to my standards. The familiar aagh moment.

But whether or not it’s a great poem, for myself it rings with whatever was in the air when i felt the land about to speak. So i’m preserving it here, in the interests of getting a bit more of my own writing onto the Travel Hopefully Blog.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. opoetoo permalink
    Sunday 10 January 2010 2.42 am

    I love the poem.
    Makes me think of Little Sir John Barleycorn lying there waiting to pop up his head.

    Enjoyed the commentary too.
    What I do ,try to do,is not reckless it is downright criminal.

    • Sunday 10 January 2010 1.39 pm

      You are very kind. :0)

      If i understand you, you’re talking about the principle of when you feel ‘I mustn’t write that! It’s taboo! I can’t bring myself to!’ that’s the signal that you should write it. Yep?

      • opoetoo permalink
        Sunday 10 January 2010 6.31 pm

        I was referring to this:”I included this one with our Christmas cards, mere days after it came to me, with a little thought given to the line breaks but otherwise no revision. For me that’s reckless, ”

        You let stuff sit and work through it and present a quality product.
        I post it a few hours or minutes after it gets scribbled down-criminal.

        thanks for listening

        • Sunday 10 January 2010 7.07 pm

          D’oh. I thought you were referring to a whole different (or not so different, perhaps?) principle of writer’s courage…

          On a tangent, ‘Writer’s Courage’ could be a real ale. 😉

Leave a Reply

